Welcome to the official website of the Anglican
Catholic Church’s Diocese of Congo

+The Right Reverend Dr. Steven Ayule-Milenge (PhD)-O/CGS
Bishop Ordinary of the ACC-Diocese of Congo

+The Most Reverend Dr. Mark Haverland (PhD)
Archbishop Primate Metropolitan
of the Anglican Catholic Church
The Diocese of Congo is part of the One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic Church of the Lord Jesus Christ; faithfully continuing the Anglican tradition. We are not Roman Catholic Church or part of the Anglican Communion. We practice and uphold the historic Catholic Faith, Apostolic Order, Orthodox worship, and Evangelical Witness of the traditional Anglican Church.

The Diocese of Congo of the Anglican Catholic Church strives to be a unified informed, educated and growing diocese with a deep understanding of the Catholic faith, Anglican worship and the Holy Scriptures. We welcome you to join us to worship our Lord and Savior in the beauty of Holiness.


Our Vision is to be a community of faith expressing the life and communion of the Holy Trinity in the historic Anglican tradition.


Our Mission is to bring people to Jesus Christ and to incorporate them into the community of faith through our historic Anglican tradition.


We believe that the Holy Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments are the authentic record of God's revelation to man, a revelation that is valid for all men and all time. In the Bible, we have God's revelation of Himself, His saving activity, and His moral demands. We believe that all Scripture is given by inspiration of God and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works (2nd Timothy 3:16). We believe the Catholic Faith as set forth in the three recognized Creeds of Christendom: the Apostles' Creed, the Nicene Creed, and that known as the Creed of St. Athanasius. We receive and believe them in the sense they have had always in the Catholic Church. We hold dear the seven Sacraments of Grace, namely, the Sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation, and the Holy Eucharist, Holy Matrimony, Holy Orders, Penance, and Unction of the Sick. We believe them to be objective signs of Christ's continued presence and saving activity among us. We believe in the holy sacrifice of the Mass and that the body and blood of Christ is truly and really present in the Holy Eucharist. We believe in God's gift of the apostolic ministry to His Church, asserting the necessity of a bishop in apostolic succession (or a priest ordained by such) as the celebrant of the Eucharist. Furthermore, we hold that the Holy Orders of Bishops, Priests, and Deacons consist exclusively of men in accordance with Christ's will and institution. We believe in the sanctity of human life; that life begins at the moment of conception; and that the willful taking of that life in the womb by abortion to be a grave sin (Title XV, Canon I, 1.01 of the Canons of the Anglican Catholic Church).


The ACC is a worldwide body of Christians led by bishops in the Apostolic Succession

Understanding the Catholic Church

The Catholic Church is the one, true Church of God throughout the world. The Catholic Church is present wherever Christians gather around a bishop of Apostolic Succession and faith. The presence of Apostolic Succession and faith, and thus Catholicity, certainly requires and presupposes: acceptance of the Old and New Testaments as the record of God’s decisive self-revelation; acceptance of the doctrine of the undivided, ancient Church, which is summarized particularly in the Creeds; celebration of the sacraments, particularly baptism and the Eucharist, through which God unites his people to himself; maintenance of the historical line of bishops sometimes called the ‘tactile succession’.

The Anglican Catholic Church (ACC) was formed in the late 1970s when certain parts of the Canterbury Communion (notably the Anglican Church of Canada and the Episcopal Church, USA) began to move away from the catholic and apostolic faith as it was understood within the English Church since its earliest days. In 1977 a group of nearly 2000 concerned churchmen gathered in St. Louis, Missouri, to form a jurisdiction within which traditional Anglican faith and practice could be maintained. With the consecration of four new bishops, what the founders at St. Louis established was not merely a denomination, but a Church, that is, a body of Christians gathered around a bishop in the Apostolic Succession.

The Structure of the Anglican Catholic Church

A Church is comprised of Provinces. At present there are two Provinces in the ACC. The Original Province currently has congregations on every inhabited continent save Asia (where the Second Province is located) and in about 20 countries. The Second Province, formerly known as the Church of India, Pakistan, Burma, and Ceylon (CIPBC), is now known as the Province of South Asia. This Province has its own hierarchy of bishops. The Church is led by the Primate, who is also a Metropolitan Archbishop. The Primate is elected by the Metropolitans from among their number. The Holy Synod passes Church legislation, while the Court of the Primate handles judicial matters within the Church.*

Provinces are composed of Dioceses. Each Province is led by a Metropolitan, who is also a Diocesan Bishop. The Metropolitan is elected by the bishops of the Province from the Diocesan Bishops. Provincial Legislation is passed by the Provincial Synod, composed of the Bishops of the Province, the Senate of Clergy (elected by the clergy in Diocesan Synods), and the Assembly of Laity (elected by the laity in Diocesan Synods). Judicial matters are handled by the Court of the Metropolitan.

Congregations (parishes and missions) are the buidling blocks of the dioceses. Each Diocese is headed by a Bishop Ordinary and may have assisting bishops (suffragan or co-adjutor). The Diocesan Bishops are usually elected by Diocesan Synods. Legislation is passed by the Diocesan Synod, which is composed of three entities: the Bishop Ordinary, the Senate of Clergy (all of the clergy not under discipline), and the House of Laity (representatives elected by their congregations). Judicial matters are handled by the Diocesan, or Consistory Court.

Church Governance and Administration

The full organizational and administrative machinery of the top level of the Church will only come into existence when the ACC has three Provinces. Until that time the Acting Primate is the Metropolitan of the Original Province, and Church legislation and judicial matters for the whole Church are handled by the Provincial Synod and by the Metropolitan’s Court of The Original Province. Divisions and Departments that function under the Authority of the Metropolitan of the Original Province can be accessed by clicking the links to the right.